My 1st finished 120 roll! My Thoughts.

Hey all, it’s been a while. I finally managed to get my Hasselblad 500cm cleaned by a good friend, David aka Fatigue. With the encouragement of She, Jon and Chester, I have finally got out there and finished 12 shots. (The 120 on the Hasselblad 500cm shoots 12 shots in a square format)

20170604_103101

Some lessons I learnt when shooting:

  1. Always remove the metal slide before taking a shot (Strangely, my 500cm will still fire away even though the metal slide is still intact). I’ve asked for David to check it out to see what happened. If you do not, then it won’t expose to the film and you will basically get a blank shot. Sadly, I would have forgotten about this and I skipped about 3-4 shots.

PS: The hasselblad 500cm is not supposed to fire when the metal slide is in.

2. It is good to take notes of what you shoot, what settings you used and more if you can. It helps with your future shots especially when you are starting out like me. Data helps until you are a seasoned film photographer then it would be natural.

3. Sometimes, the interesting stuff are just all around you. I wanted to go to specific places to shoot so that I won’t waste my shots. What I didn’t realise was that, there were so many interesting things to shoot just nearby my place. You don’t need to go far and out just to get photos. It kinda makes you want to stay in bed and not get out.

I’ll be heading off to Triple D later (they are closed on Sundays sadly) to get my first roll processed! Super excited to see that the Ilford HP5 plus 400asa can produce and also to see how beautiful the 500cm is.

I’ll update you soon with the pictures.

God bless and have a lovely weekend!

*Look out for my Olympus OM-1 photoshoot!*

Author: Ezekiel Kok

Young man who shares not only what flows through his mind but also his heart. Enjoy the beauty that surrounds me as my eyes feast and my camera captures for all to enjoy and admire.

Leave a Reply

