Chasing the rising sun @ Lower Seletar Reservoir, Singapore

Being the long weekend, I took the opportunity to go out and capture as much sun rises as possible. Yesterday, it was with four of my friends in Chinatown. Today, it is at a nearer to home location, my ol usual spot, Lower Seletar Reservoir, which is less than 30 minutes away from my residence. Thank God there are bus services to bring me there.

I was there before 0630 as I remembered sometimes the light is beautiful before the sun rises along the horizon. I was not disappointed as I was rewarded with this.

dscf4065
Reward for being early- F11, ISO 100, 30s

I love the quietness and peacefulness of being there. Though I wasn’t alone in the area, I was the only one there with a camera. Not everyone is willing to wake up this early to get this. I’m willing to, and when a man wants something, by all means and ways he will go and get it. Will smith said in the movie: The Pursuit of Happiness, “Don’t ever let somebody tell you, you can’t do something, you got a dream? You got to protect it, people can’t do something themselves, they wanna tell you that you can’t do it, you want something? Go get it. PERIOD!”

So here I am, going out there to get it, protecting what I enjoy doing, breathing in the fresh morning air and enjoying the light and beauty of the clouds and the rising sun.

dscf4118
ISO 100, F16, 1/6sec
dscf4165
ISO 100, F16, 1/30sec
dscf4189
ISO 100, F16, 25sec

This is my 2nd attempt on the haida system using a ND1000 and my first time trying the gnd 0.9. Yes there is a purple cast and that’s probably due to the UV filter which I failed to remove.

dscf4203
ISO 100, F16, 1/105sec

I would definitely need more practice on the new system. Hope you love them as much as I do.

God bless,

Ezekiel

4 thoughts on “Chasing the rising sun @ Lower Seletar Reservoir, Singapore

  1. Without these types of pictures, I don’t know if I would ever be inspired to go further. You display such talent and patience. I love how in depth you go too. All we see is the finished process, but there is so much more. You track each shot, you post process, and you use your talent to make that shot look perfect.
    I love this new series too. It does not fall short anywhere. I absolutely love the first picture. The softness of the shot, the feeling of absolute peace allows me to escape for a moment into the picture. I hope you realize just how much talent you were blessed with! I hope you also realize just how lucky Singapore is to have you too. (and of course, just how lucky I am to know you!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Michael! From the bottom of my heart, I thank you for the constant kind words and encouragement! After my wife, you are the next person I will definitely look forward to sharing pictures with, knowing you would enjoy my work and what my eyes see. Thank God for knowing you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

