Chinatown in Singapore- A fresh perspective

Chinatown is one of the tourist attractions all over the world as of course, chinese food is one of the main reasons why people are drawn towards it. Culture also plays a part as well as heritage since Singapore’s past till date are mainly chinese. We brought my wife’s cousin to have dim sum (food that touches the heart) and also a short walk around the area.

Filled with colors and many interesting things, Chinatown is bursting with different kinds of food and attractions. I managed to capture a few shots for all to enjoy.

Images are taken with the Fuji XT1 & 18mm Fujinon lens, straight out of the camera

DSCF2134
Tourists from all over the world
DSCF2140
Colorful chinese shop houses with lanterns and monkeys (this year being the year of the monkey for chinese animal zodiacs)

You’d definitely want to have a look around at all the various kinds of gifts you can take home with you. Below are some that caught my eye when I was walking by.

DSCF2149
Laughing buddha
DSCF2162
Dragons were a symbol of Strength, power and wisdom
DSCF2168
Mini Lion dancing puppets

The tooth relic temple is a must visit when you come to chinatown. Honestly, I come here because of the beauty of the structure and the lights when the sun goes down. You will be greeted by two statues at the front of the door and as you enter, feast your eyes on this beauty.

DSCF2181
Tooth Relic Temple

Enjoy

God bless,

 

Ezekiel

2 thoughts on “Chinatown in Singapore- A fresh perspective

  1. I consider myself a harsh judge when it comes to photography and art. I love when art, photos, or a series of photos transforms me. I am finding this series doing just that.
    You have transported me visually to Chinatown, in Singapore. I feel that if I were to visit there, I would already have a familiar feeling.
    Your talent to tell a story with few words and a series of pictures brings me joy and appreciation. You have a gift that I both love and envy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

