Reunion.

Since it is the first day of the year, I decided to go out and capture life about Reunion. This topic was suggested by my lovely wife. The first thing that popped into my mind was families eating (yes, here in Singapore, we eat) In fact, almost everywhere you walk to, there will be some form of food around, even 24 hour eating places to satisfy the huge hunger of our population. It was definitely impossible that I barge into restaurants to snap families eating away but I headed to Orchard road to see what I could capture.

Orchard road was bustling with lots of people. Families, friends and many others there shopping and spending time together. I attempted to capture them walking down Tangs, but it proved harder than I thought. I am not street trained so every shot I took was either too early, blocked by someone else, or too late, that being the moment was gone. It didn’t take long before I gave up and had to change tactics. I decided to walk down Orchard road and capture as I went.

It was only then that I started capturing images that caught my eye. I noticed life in reality. Singapore is filled with people from all walks of life. I noticed that not everyone has their family by their side. Many sacrifice themselves to work abroad just to feed the mouths back home. Reunion had a new meaning. Not everyone had it, but I pray not for long. The images I captured do have and also do not have reunion in it. Perhaps you can share my experience through my pictures.

Happy New Year, 2016…

Images were captured using a Fuji XT1 and a Fuji 35mm lens.

DSCF9796
Messaging a loved one far away
DSCF9798
Special father and child moment
DSCF9803
Having fun at the round about
DSCF9817
Reunion of brothers
DSCF9826
Alone.
DSCF9829
Friendship reunion
DSCF9838
Calling a loved one
DSCF9843
Family picture, Sunglasses galore
DSCF9844
Friends reunion

 

DSCF9853
Relaxing over ice cream
Leave a Reply

